Term 1 of Nomad 2016/17 is done! I can’t quite believe that we’re already a third of the way through this year and that it is the 3rd year of my Nomad journey! Since the last blog about Nomadic adventures and getting stuck on motorways, more exciting stuff has happened so feast your eyes below for some more fun times…

Lichfield Schools Week (27th Nov – 2nd Dec)
Now for those of you who have been with me since the start of my Nomad journey, you will probably remember the ever famous Lichfield Schools Week. For those not aware, schools come from all over Lichfield to experience a short Nativity Play and then various stations where they hear about the true meaning of Christmas. Nomads job for the week I hear you ask? Not quite football, but we get dressed up and help tell the nativity story to the kids! I make a very good Mary (even if I do say so myself) and the team did a great job adapting to the roles and sharing with over 360 young children. Each day ran the same – the nativity play followed by splitting the kids into 4 or 5 groups and spreading them round to the various stations; The King’s Palace, Modern Day Living Room, Christingle, Christmas Card Sorting and the Christmas Story and although long, the kids got a lot from each section and asked some great questions! It was a top time and my highlight of the week was just seeing so many young kids lives impacted from hearing the true meaning of Christmas and how simple things like remembering their names can make their day!

YFC Conference (3rd – 7th Jan)
With Christmas over already and having spent some top time with family it was back again to Manchester for the annual YFC Conference and my first as a staff member. As per usual, it was an incredible week with some solid Bible teaching from Stephen Gaukroger and some really inspiring talks. Stephen spoke around the book of Ephesians and how it relates to our lives, mixing a great blend of humour in with his talks and setting us up for each day. One of the best things about Conference is just the sense of community it brings wither 400 members of the  YFC family altogether and being able to hear stories from how Christ is working all over the country, even the world!

Ignite Weekend Away (13th – 15th Jan)
With a couple of days to sleep off Conference and get back into the routine of things, we were then back at Whitemoor Lakes for a weekend away with the youth from Wade Street Church (the base church in my first year with Nomad). It’s something I’ve helped with for the last two years and loved so I was excited to be going again and bringing the new team with me! The theme for the weekend was baptism and interspersed with some freezing cold outdoor activities were some great Bible Studies and talks about baptism. The team was able to share their own experiences of baptism and why they made commitments and it was great to be able to see the group respond to such personal testimony from the team!

It’s definitely been a bit of a quieter period for Nomad these last few months but it’s been really great to spend some team time together and plugging into Birmingham life! We’ve got a couple of weeks coming up soon, with a return to Abingdon next week and then a couple of weeks in Scotland come March so stay tuned for that!

Thank you so much for giving my blog a read, I massively appreciate everyone that reads my blogs, supports me, prays for me etc; I couldn’t do it without you! As always, please do feel free to drop me a message if you have any questions about support or Nomad, I’d love to hear from you!

God Bless,

Beth

Personal Support Page – https://yfc.uk/team/bethwelford/support/

Photos

img_0270
Micah|Joseph|Mary|Angel Gabriel

img_1680
A Welford Family New Year

img_1830
Fencing with Wade Street!

 

 

